top of page



While every diamond is unique, all diamonds share certain structural features. A diamond’s anatomy, or its basic structure, determines its proportions, brilliance, dispersion and scintillation. Each part of the diamond has a specific name, and having a basic understanding of how each part contributes to the diamond as a whole will help you find your perfect diamond. A diamond is comprised of the eight main components. They are Table, Crown, Girdle, Pavilion, and Culet. Below is a brief description of each part of a diamond and its location.

Group 2795.png


> Largest facet of a diamond
> Always a flat surface
> Resembles a table top

Group 2796.png


> Extends from the table
> Ends at the top of the girdle
> Step or brilliant cut facets

Group 2797.png


> Outer edge of diamond
> Widest point on a diamond
> Where crown & pavilion meet
> Either rough, polished or faceted

Group 2800.png


> Located at the bottom
> Bridges the girdle & culet
> Determines light reflection
> Quality cuts allow for max light

Group 2801.png


> Smallest facet of a diamond
> Located at the very bottom tip
> Used to protect the pavilion
> Modern methods renders it.
> unnecessary, but it’s still in use


Greenlab believes in adding value to its customer, and therefore it’s constantly expanding
its base and  knowledge in product offering and quality standards.

bottom of page