top of page



Diamond is one of the world’s most valued natural resources, not to mention one of the most highly desired gemstones. Diamond is naturally made with an enormous variety of characteristics, making each individual diamond unique. The combinations of these characteristics determine the quality and value of a diamond.

The Four C’s stand for Cut, Color, Clarity, and Carat Weight . The diamond grading system has transformed the diamond trade and today is used by nearly every professional in the industry and diamond enthusiasts across the globe. Because individual diamond varies so immensely in quality and price, it is vital for consumers to be familiar with the Four C’s as well. We’ve outlined the basics of this grading system below, to help give consumers the resources they need to make educated purchases.

The 4Cs of a diamond are the most important factors that play a critical role in determining the price of a diamond. These include diamond carat weight, diamond color, diamond clarity, and diamond cut. While the first three a natural elements, the fourth one depends on the quality of the craftsmanship, so cut is a human factor.

It is very important to note that you would have to learn more about each C in order to understand how important that C is while considering a diamond. 

Cut of diamonds
The diamond cut is the most important element to consider when buying a diamond. The cut is the biggest factor in creating sparkle and fire, and without a high cut grade even a diamond of high quality can appear dull and lifeless. A diamond cut poorly and too deep can face-up smaller than it actually is. A well-cut diamond will direct more light through the crown. A diamond with a depth that’s too shallow or too deep will allow light to escape through the sides or the bottom of the stone.

A diamond’s clarity, colour and carat weight cannot be altered, but it is a high quality cut of diamond that can release that extra special sparkle.
Group 2558.png
If a diamond is cut too shallow light will escape through the lower part of the diamond, the pavilion, reducing the diamond’s sparkle to the observer.
Group 2557.png
A deep cut diamond will have a similar effect to the shallow cut, refracting light through the pavilion again.
Group 2556.png
A well-cut diamond will reflect light back through the crown of the diamond and into the observer’s view.
A diamond’s cut grade is the only factor that is influenced by a human hand. A master cutter will apprentice for at least 10 years before touching a 1 carat diamond. These highly-skilled craftsmen bring the ultimate beauty of the diamond to life by adhering to specific parameters in order to maximize sparkle. Several individual factors are evaluated to determine the cut grade of a diamond including its proportions, depth, symmetry, polish and finish.

The GIA uses the following scale to grade round brilliant diamonds:
An excellent cut diamond has a maximum amount of scintillation, brilliance and fire. Light enters the diamond and refracts back out with very little light lost. This exceptional grade represents roughly the top three-percent of diamonds.
A diamond with a very good cut grade will reflect most of the light and will appear somewhat similar to an ideal cut diamond. This diamond will have superior sparkle, brilliance and fire.
Reflecting most of the light entering the diamond, this diamond cut has above average beauty. Diamonds with this grade won’t have as much brilliance and fire as higher cuts.
Diamonds graded Fair don’t have the optimum brilliance and fire, as they allow a significant amount of the entering light to exit on the bottom or side of the diamond instead of through the top. These are still quality, but not nearly as well performing as a finer cut.
Diamonds with a poor cut may appear dull because the majority of the light is lost through the bottom or sides of the diamond. With a noticeable decrease in sparkle, even an untrained eye can see a sharp difference between this and higher cuts.
Technically speaking, there are no more C’s of Diamonds other than Cut, Color, Clarity and Carat. However, there is another Criteria which we at Diabon, refer to as the Fifth C of Diamond Grading and it is the Certification of Diamonds and we would even go further and state the IGI certificate.

Everybody can issue a certificate specifying the Four C’s of a bespoken diamond. But the question is are they qualified and professional enough to do so? (and that assuming they have the integrity to do so). Over the years many reputable jewelry companies issued their own certificate of authenticity as for the diamond’s quality and attributes. But those companies have the incentive to lie (or at least to round it up) towards their own sake. A minor “mistake” of grading a diamond as D instead of E means A LOT of money. Therefore, only trust the objective certificate of a gemological institute and the IGI’s certificate is known to be strict non-compromising and accurate. Why settle for anything else?
bottom of page