top of page



Diamond is one of the world’s most valued natural resources, not to mention one of the most highly desired gemstones. Diamond is naturally made with an enormous variety of characteristics, making each individual diamond unique. The combinations of these characteristics determine the quality and value of a diamond.

The Four C’s stand for Cut, Color, Clarity, and Carat Weight . The diamond grading system has transformed the diamond trade and today is used by nearly every professional in the industry and diamond enthusiasts across the globe. Because individual diamond varies so immensely in quality and price, it is vital for consumers to be familiar with the Four C’s as well. We’ve outlined the basics of this grading system below, to help give consumers the resources they need to make educated purchases.

The 4Cs of a diamond are the most important factors that play a critical role in determining the price of a diamond. These include diamond carat weight, diamond color, diamond clarity, and diamond cut. While the first three a natural elements, the fourth one depends on the quality of the craftsmanship, so cut is a human factor.

It is very important to note that you would have to learn more about each C in order to understand how important that C is while considering a diamond. 

Clarity of Diamonds
This refers to the inclusions (internal) or blemishes (external) held by the stone. A diamond’s clarity is determined under a 10x loupe magnification with the highest grading called Flawless which has no internal or external flaws. Flawless and Internally Flawless diamonds are incredibly rare. We then enter the realms of VVS, VS, SI and I which all include variations of the word imperfect such as very very slightly imperfect, very slightly imperfect, slightly imperfect and imperfect.

It is important to remember that officially these clarity terms only become apparent under 10x loupe magnification and shouldn’t affect your experience looking at your diamond with the naked eye.
Group 2578.png
Group 2566.png


A diamond that is graded as Flawless contains no inclusions or blemishes apparent to the grader under magnification.
Group 2566.png


These diamonds do not contain any inclusions but may contain a very small blemish under magnification.
Group 2577.png


These diamonds may contain inclusions so minute that they are barely visible, even to the trained grader under magnification.
Group 2575.png


These diamonds contain minor inclusions not visible to the naked eye, but are apparent under magnification
Group 2812.png


These diamonds contain inclusions that are visible under magnification, and can occasionally be visible to the naked eye under close inspection.
Group 2571.png


These diamonds contain noticeable inclusions that are almost always visible to the naked eye.
Technically speaking, there are no more C’s of Diamonds other than Cut, Color, Clarity and Carat. However, there is another Criteria which we at Diabon, refer to as the Fifth C of Diamond Grading and it is the Certification of Diamonds and we would even go further and state the IGI certificate.

Everybody can issue a certificate specifying the Four C’s of a bespoken diamond. But the question is are they qualified and professional enough to do so? (and that assuming they have the integrity to do so). Over the years many reputable jewelry companies issued their own certificate of authenticity as for the diamond’s quality and attributes. But those companies have the incentive to lie (or at least to round it up) towards their own sake. A minor “mistake” of grading a diamond as D instead of E means A LOT of money. Therefore, only trust the objective certificate of a gemological institute and the IGI’s certificate is known to be strict non-compromising and accurate. Why settle for anything else?
bottom of page